Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for November 30th, 2009

Over the holiday, in between picking up the turkey and baking pies, I had the opportunity to visit my mom at work. I haven’t had a chance to visit since she started her still-fairly-new job at one of the retirement homes in the area.

Excuse me: not retirement, Senior Living Community.

But really, even that’s a misnomer. “Senior Living Community” sounds kind of old and boring. And this place was anything but.

The facility itself is beautiful. As soon as you walk in the doors, you’re in a cozy, homey lobby – where several of the residents regularly hang out. Continue on the tour, and you find yourself at the in-house salon, which just so happens to be on the same floor as the fitness center. (And the fitness center, by the way, rivals the one in my office building. In fact, if I’m being honest, I think it’s even better.)

Between the salon and the gym? Why, there’s the movie theater, of course:

Please excuse the quality. Camera phone, you know.

Next showing, La Vie en Rose, according to the Netflix sleeve I found.

On that same floor, you know, just in case the previously mentioned rooms aren’t enough for you, there’s also a library and an art studio. And maybe it’s just because the best I can do is paint by numbers, but I was very impressed with the skills of some of these residents.

One lady even uses a loom!

I can only hope that 1) when I’m that old I’ll still be active enough to enjoy those amenities, and 2) that I’ll even have amenities like that in the first place.

Or maybe just the loom. I bet that could keep me occupied for hours.

Read Full Post »