Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 13th, 2011

I promised that I’d get to it eventually. I’ve been on another type of adrenaline high for the week, so jumping out of a plane just didn’t seem to be that big of a deal.

Okay. I’m lying. Still kind of awesome.

I’ve wanted to jump since I turned 18, but I never could find both willing companions and the funds at the same time.

So when I saw the Living Social coupon announcing that the jump would be about half its original price, I knew I couldn’t pass it up. And, of course, at that price, I managed to rope a couple friends into it with me.

When we got to the field in the middle of nowhere (Virginia), I started to question my sanity. All I saw were a few barn-esque buildings, and two (what seemed like) toy planes. There’s no way we’re going up in those, I thought. They must be used for something else. And I looked around in search of the real plane from which I’d be jumping.

We got all harness-ed up, practiced our arch-kick technique, and then we waited.

"Show me your tough face!"

The waiting was the worst. We had no idea when it was going to be our turn, who our tandem jumper was going to be, or if we’d be the unlucky jumper who landed in the tree. One of the instructors, Captain America, seemed like a showboat, and neither LT nor I were really keen on having him.

Which means, of course, that he was mine.

Captain America would probably describe himself as a funny guy. But not even his jokes that it was only his second day jumping could distract me as we took off in a plane that felt like it could fit in my apartment.

I was the lucky little duck sitting right next to the pilot, who leaned over and pointed to something right by my leg: “This is my fuel gauge. Don’t touch it.

Awesome. Because there’s just so much room to maneuver in here.

But that anxiety, not even fear, but just genuine nervousness, all stayed on the plane. When Captain America took me out on the ledge and we began our freefall, I felt like I was on the best roller coaster ride of my life…but better.

I was screaming out of excitement. I couldn’t believe the literal rush I felt hurtling through the air. And when the parachute opened, I could only gasp, “Oh my god…” several dozen times.

The float down was peaceful. I could see everything in every direction and I felt like I could float there forever.

After we finally slid in for the landing, Captain America asked me if I’d do it again.

My answer?

In a heartbeat.

But maybe I won’t sit next to the fuel gauge next time. Way too much pressure.

Read Full Post »