Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for October 24th, 2013

The day I officially found out I was pregnant (blood test, not pee sticks) I forgot to put on deodorant, forgot to take my prenatal vitamin, and forgot my keys during an afternoon trip back to the apartment.

The next day I forgot my lunch and, apparently, my balance, considering I full-on crashed into a lady on the bus.

The following night I asked Husband the same question multiple times in a row. Not because he didn’t answer me the first time, but because I couldn’t remember a) if I’d asked out loud, or b) what he’d said.

It felt like my brain and body had heard this rumor about “pregnancy brain” and just decided to run with it. It’s like they were in cahoots, saying, “You know what will be great? Let’s fuck with her memory. And while we’re at it, let’s make her a klutz!

So now, instead of just feeling pregnant, I also feel a little bit like a grandma.

I take extra time in the morning, checking and double checking my bag to make sure I have my lunch.

I do multiple sniff tests (and sometimes get Husband in on the fun – that’s how you know it’s love) before I leave for work to make sure I’ve put on deodorant. And then I put on some more, just in case.

I don’t go anywhere without visually making sure my keys are on my person.

I try to make sure that I’m always holding on to something – especially if I’m in a moving vehicle.

I miss my once-solid memory.

It’s gotten a little better in the past few weeks.

I haven’t fallen on anybody recently, and I haven’t forgotten my keys or my lunch.

But I still do the sniff test every morning, and keep an extra stick of deodorant in my desk drawer.

Just in case.

Read Full Post »